cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Module aggregation and page redesign

Module aggregation and page redesign

I'm need need of a few pointers regarding a website built using Magento, which I inherited the maitenance.

I must say that I'm a complete noob when it comes to Magento (although I'm familiar with Joomla and a bit of Wordpress) and I've already read some documentation regarding module creation and configuration.

The site is built and fully functional but now the client has requested a redesign to the "customer dashboard" part of the site (basically, where the customers manage their account, orders, personal information and so on) and I'm completely lost with how things should be done which is frustrating.

So, currently the "customer dashboard" thing is a two column layout on which a column on the left has a menu to point/navigate to different parts of the customer account data, which, I already understood, point to different modules (is this the correct term??) like, e.g., "customer/account/", "sales/order/history/", "customerdashboard/deliverydetails/edit/" and so on..

Current layout example:

+-----------------+
| ----- | ------- |
| menu  | module  |
| items |  data   |
| ----- | ------- |
+-----------------+

What we want now is to have a different layout in which, instead of navigating through menus to see different modules, we want to have a single page in which the different menus represent a portion of the page (similar to a single page site layout without it being exactly one), e.g.:

The intended layout:

+------------------+
| ------ | ------- |
| module | module  |
|    1   |    2    |
| -----  | ------- |
| module | module  |
|    3   |    4    |
| ------ | ------- |
+------------------+

Given that the code is already there and just a few visual tweaks are required to said modules (in order to fit in the new layout) how can I achieve this?