cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Patch Management

Patch Management

I'm very new to Magneto. About Patch Management:

How can one tell what patches are already installed with a given Magento installation? There does not seem to be patch level version numbering.

In addition, after I installed Magento, in the admin panel I saw that there are 4 critcal security patches to install including:

SUPEE-5344 and SUPEE-1533

1533 doesn't install and based on the error message appears that the base install was built with the patch. 5344 did install.

But even after installing, I'm still told there are 4 critical patches within the admin panel and the version remains Magento ver. 1.9.1.0

How does one properly track patches and patch related versioning?

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Patch Management

Every time patches are applied, they append an entry to the app/etc/applied.patches.list file and often list the patched files in additon to the patch version information.

Magento version upgrades overwrite the patched files and therefore remove the patches. You will need to read up on what patches are required for the new version and reapply them in order from oldest to newest. By the time you get through several upgrades, you will have multiple entries in app/etc/applied.patches.list with the older ones included in the code version updates dropping off the listing.

Patch management at its very crudest, its all manual and you should research and put together an archive of every patch you will need before upgrading and be sure to leave your new version of Magento with an .htaccess lockdown by IP and in maintenance mode until fully patched. No need to jump from 1.8.x.x to 1.9.x.x and be shoplifted in minutes by a script kiddie, eh?

Latest word on the street is that 1533 is included in 1.9.1.0, but 5344 must be applied (it's the really critical one).

Hi @jimbo5, you can check to see if your site is still vulnerable here: http://magento.com/security-patch

--