cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from CE v1.9.0.1 to CE v.1.9.1.0

Upgrade from CE v1.9.0.1 to CE v.1.9.1.0

I have just scanned through the update documentation, but I'm not quite sure. Is the update from CE v1.9.0.1 to CE v.1.9.1.0 as easy as just using

System >> Magento Connect >> Magento Connect Manager >> Manage Existing Extensions >> Check for Updates >> (mark all available updates) >> Commit Changes

in the back office? Or are there additional steps (like database upgrade) necessary?

I only want to update my development environment, not a live shop, so I don't care about additional steps of backups, testing the upgrade on a copy or the likes. I'm still a Magento newbie so please excuse if that process is supposed to be straight forward.

Thanks for your help.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Upgrade from CE v1.9.0.1 to CE v.1.9.1.0

Any time a database upgrade is necessary, Magento handles that automatically behind the scenes. 

Definitely do make sure you test this first on a development environment. Also, because of how the database upgrades are handled, make sure that no one else is accessing the site when you start the upgrade - Magento has a habit of mistakenly firing off multiple database upgrades if multiple people visit the site immediately after you update it. 

As far as the best way to upgrade - using Magento Connect is one option. It's probably not the most popular option among Magento developers and it's probably not the safest option, but since you're experimenting with a dev environment first, yes, you should be able to update the site in that manner. 

If you have any core modifications or other improper edits to your Magento site, the upgrade may not work correctly. So - give it a shot in your development environment using the steps you listed above, and let us know how it goes. If there are issues, we can walk you through other ways to upgrade, troubleshooting upgrade issues, etc.