cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User Question: How Does Magento Deal With Variation Information That's Not Configurable

New User Question: How Does Magento Deal With Variation Information That's Not Configurable

Hi - I've never used Magento before, but I'm currently looking at it as an option. 

A simplified example of my question:

Sofa variation A

Colour: Black (configurable attribute - i.e. on the product page, you should be able to choose between multiple colours)

Seat filling: Feathers (basic variation specific information)

Sofa variation B

Colour: Red (configurable attribute - i.e. on the product page, you should be able to choose between multiple colours)

Seat filling: Foam (basic variation specific information)

My question is, how does Magento deal with displaying this information on the product page? If you select the red variation, will it change the seat filling information automatically? 

3 REPLIES 3

Re: New User Question: How Does Magento Deal With Variation Information That's Not Configurable

Hi @aaronmag,

Magento can handle that type of product. Maybe this document helps you to understand how to manage configurable products http://docs.magento.com/m2/ce/user_guide/catalog/product-create-configurable.html

Re: New User Question: How Does Magento Deal With Variation Information That's Not Configurable

Hi @Damian Culotta

Thanks for you response! I can see that configurable products are possible from your link, and you can set colour for example to be available in a select/swatch. My question is, can you add 'extra information' that is specific to that configuration, but will not be a select/swatch, i.e. it's purely there for informational purposes.