cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Categorize products easily (view category and change easily)

SOLVED

Categorize products easily (view category and change easily)

Hi

I am new to Magento. 

I just bought a shop where all products are imported though a feed. Some in categories and some not. I get all the products from the distributors but I am not going to sell all of them, so some have to be inactive. 

I need to check the category and possible change it for all the products I want to sell but with +35000 total products that will take forever. I have been looking at Catalog -> Products and gone through all the products I want to sell to see if they are in the right category and have filtered out the inactive ones but as mentioned that takes too much work. 

Is there a way I can see the categories assigned to the products already so that I don't need to check those that are okay? I would also like to be able to see e.g. the manufactor so when I go through the currently inactive products I can just skip those that I don't work with any longer. I am aware of the Catalog -> Category but has not been able to help me.

I am also looking for a more faster way to manually change categories rather than have to go to the product and change it. Say a fast dropdown menu or something. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Categorize products easily (view category and change easily)

@only4kids

Hi.

One of such extension you might have come across is Store Manager for Magento (2-week functional version is available for download from the link in my signature).

Using which you will be able to:

- see if there are products not assigned to any category, applying simple filter -

- move up/down through product list and see to which category product belongs right in lower grid -

- re-assign or assign product right in lover grid or using 'Assign Categories' option (works for multiple products)