cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move from OC for a better B2B experience and more

Move from OC for a better B2B experience and more

Hiya. Ok newbie here. Looking to use Magento 2.2 CE for a very small local business. They currently use OC and we're struggling to get a decent B2B experience and we've discussed moving to Magento but found out now that this is only for the EE version which is a bit annoying. However I do believe that the move to Magento would be beneficial still.

We're looking to create a trade site on Magento to start with and keep the current retail on OC for the moment. The trade site needs:

1. Trade registration requests that are approved in the admin.
2. Quick simple ordering system with running total (as trade will be offered free delivery over £xx)
3. Products to be set per pack (6, 12) instead of individually like the consumer site
4. Option to pay immediately or by invoice

I'm a confident frontend developer and have a good knowledge of editing styles and templates manually so I'll probably use a good free responsive template and make changes manually with combination of markup and CSS.

The plan is then if the trade Magento works well is to move the OC retail site over to Magento too. So my next question is.. can I then create another install of Magento for retail, using the same DB as the existing trade and modify this to provide a retail version? I'm guessing we would need to ensure we future proof the original trade install like creating a trade customer group etc. The retail version will be similar to trade but would have more of a retail journey like fluffy header banners, promos etc etc. Payment and delivery options would be totally different to trade and people wouldn't need to have admin approve their account.