cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

installing BannerSlider

installing BannerSlider

hello,

i'm a magento novice and trying to install Banner Slider to 1.9.

i've tried several things but can't get the banner to show up above the content, below the menu om the home page (cms)

the manual says

• Add code below to a template file

$this->getLayout()->createBlock(bannerslider/default)->setTemplate(bannerslider/bannerslider.phtml)->setBannersliderId(your_bannerslider_id)->toHtml();

so i added that to /app/design/frontend/default/theme569/template/page/3columns.phtml so that contains this code:

<body<?php 

echo $this->getLayout()->createBlock(bannerslider/default)->setTemplate(bannerslider/bannerslider.phtml)->setBannersliderId(your_bannerslider_id)->toHtml();

echo $this->getBodyClass()?' class="ps-static '.$this->getBodyClass().'"':'' ?>>

<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('after_body_start') ?>

<div class="wrapper ps-static <?php echo $this->getLang().'-lang-class';?>">

<?php echo $this->getChildHtml('global_notices') ?>

then the manual continues with:

You can put a banner slider on a cms page. Below is an example which we put a banner slider with bannerslider_id is your_bannerslider_id on a cms page

{{block type="bannerslider/default" name="bannerslider.bannerslider" template="bannerslider/bannerslider.phtml" bannerslider_id="1"}}

i'm confused with that one, it doesn't look like HTML or PHP, but I pasted it in the content and in the Layout update XML anyway but without any result

Please copy and paste the code below on one of xml layout files where you want to show the banner. Please replace the your_bannerslider_ids variable with your own bannerslider Id

<block type="bannerslider/default" name="bannerslider.bannerslider" template="bannerslider/bannerslider.phtml">
<action method="setBannersliderId"><bannerslider_id>your_bannerslider_id</bannerslider_id></action>
</block>