cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing From tar.bz2 Format Download

Installing From tar.bz2 Format Download

Hi, I'm a newbie. Downloaded .tar.bz2 file. Are there any instructions for installing? I extracted (I think so anyway) with easy7zip. After doing that I hunted around in the folders for an .exe file, but no luck. Thanks
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Installing From tar.bz2 Format Download

Here's the official installation guide:-

http://devdocs.magento.com/guides/m1x/install/installing_install.html

Are you planning to run Magento in your own computer? If so you need to get all the necessary software setup and ready in your computer before you can proceed. 

Magento is meant to run from a server and not in a computer so it's not a Windows software where you can install with a setup .exe file. 

I thought Magento could create an ecommerce website on a windows PC, and that then you would have a company host it on their server once it was ready to use. Maybe I'm totally wrong in my assumptions. Thanks

You can install and run it in your computer but before you do, you will need to setup all the necessary software like Apache, PHP and MySQL in your computer first (which is normally by setting up Xamp or Wamp). 

Thank you for the help and clarification on what to do. I'll need to enlist a helper who knows Magento to move forward since this sounds above my skill set.

Yes, that sounds like a good plan. 

Alternatively, if you plan to use a hosting service, many hosting providers do provide auto installers for Magento so you don't need to install it manually. 

Ask yourself these questions?

Do you plan on accepting credit cards? If so than you will need to be PCI complaint. I would recommend a VPS server or a fully maintained server that you control. However, if you know nothing about handling a server than you will need a fully dedicated server but those are expensive.