cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrade from 2.1.7 to 2.3.2

Upgrade from 2.1.7 to 2.3.2

Hi

I am new to managing Magento or any tool like this. Our current version of Magento is 2.1.7 and I need a minimum version of 2.2.0 so that I can integrate a Braintree extension so that it will be ready for Strong Customer Authentication (SCA) which is coming into effect on the 14th of Sept 2019. 

Can I directly upgrade from 2.1.7 to 2.2.0 or do I need to upgrade to each version individually? Should I upgrade the available components version by version or can I upgrade straight to the latest version? What testing would be recommended after upgrading? In carrying out the upgrade, how will this effect the live website?

Any direction and help on this is greatly appreciated

Thanks

Jimmy

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Upgrade from 2.1.7 to 2.3.2

Hello @jimmy_smith ,

You don't need to upgrade the magento version one by one. It is good to upgrade your existing magento with the latest one directly.
Note: Please take the backup of old database and Magento code before upgrading to latest version

Then follow the below steps(execute the commands from magento root directory)

Step 1: 

bin/magento maintenance:enable

Step 2: Backup the existingcomposer.json of your magento root folder
Step 3:

composer remove magento/product-community-edition --no-update

Step 4: Specify Magento packages
If your magento is community edition:

composer require magento/product-community-edition=2.3.2 --no-update

If your magento is of enterprise edition

composer require magento/product-enterprise-edition=2.3.2 --no-update

Step 5: Specify additional packages: