cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginners help compiling Sass for blank theme

Beginners help compiling Sass for blank theme

I'm new to Sass and I am struggling to install the blank theme. Can anybody tell me how to do step 5 on the blank theme instructions here:

5. Compile SASS files, we recommend using Frontools

I've installed Frontools but am struggling figuring out how to compile and where the command is executed.

26 REPLIES 26

Re: Beginners help compiling Sass for blank theme

It's not directly relevant to your question, but I'm curious why you are using the Sass theme instead of the build in Less one? 

That aside, you need to run `npm install` in the vendor/snowdog/frontools directory. After that is installed, you can symlink the config by running `gulp setup`. You will need to set up theme.json. There is information here: https://github.com/SnowdogApps/magento2-frontools#installation

To be honest I am pretty confused by how to use Frontools as well.

I've had some bother previously with it, but now I have got rid of my errors, but that might be because the it doesn't seem to be compiling my styles from the Sass.

My styles.scss file is at: app/design/frontend/Mycompany/mysite/web/css/styles.scss

My setup in themes.json (dev/tools/frontools/config/themes.json) is:

{
  "blank": {
    "src": "vendor/snowdog/theme-blank-sass",
    "dest": "pub/static/frontend/Snowdog/blank",
    "locale": ["en_US"]
  },
  "upscalemenswear": {
    "src": "../app/design/frontend/Mycompany/mysite",
    "dest": "../pub/static/frontend/Mycompany/mysite",
    "locale": ["en_US"],
    "parent": "blank"
  }
}

I don't exactly know what I should be seeing, but the frontend of my site is completely trashed. I have abandoned the gulpfile.js from inside my theme and was planning on porting all of my Sass processing to postcss inside Frontools, leaving my gulpfile.js only for image & js processing.