cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Discontinued items: Disabling or deleting? What's the best practice?

Discontinued items: Disabling or deleting? What's the best practice?

Hello, 

I was wondering is there any performance issue if a large set of discontinued items are being disabled? 

The discontinued items can be also deleted permanently. 

So was wondering what's the best practice. 

Thanks 

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Discontinued items: Disabling or deleting? What's the best practice?

Hello @bnsn _store ,

I'm no SEO expert, but most of the clients that I worked with (that had SEO experts as consultants) wanted the following scenario.
They called these products 'discontinued'.

• A discontinued product page should only be accessible via manual URL. So no links in the website to the product. For this, I set the product visibility to 'Catalog' and removed the product from any category. This way Google can still access the product pages.
  • A discontinued product must be out of stock. So I allowed out of stock products to be visible.
  • I added an other attribute yes/no called 'discontinued' in order to show a message like 'This product is discontinued....bla bla'. and to diferentiate between products that are simply not in stock and those that are discontinued.
  • Some of the clients wanted the price to be removed also from the discontinued product page

--

If my answer is useful, please Accept as Solution & give Kudos

Re: Discontinued items: Disabling or deleting? What's the best practice?

@bnsn _storeBefore deciding Disabling them or Deleting them would require you to get answer of many question. Disabling/Deleting/Out of stock etc all has their pros and cons. If you have more information around it will help you decide.