cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to add a product attribute column to transactional email template?

SOLVED

How to add a product attribute column to transactional email template?

Hi guys, 

I want to add a product attribute to order confirmation email message as additional column just before Qty column. My product attribute code is "art". For that I copied 2 files from rwd theme to my own theme:

• app/design/frontend/shopper/default/template/email/order/items.phtml
  • app/design/frontend/shopper/default/template/email/order/items/order/default.phtml

In items.phtml I creted new column header - it works fine. What I have to write in default.phtml file to get "art" attribute value near each ordered product? I mean a new column between SKU an Qty columns. Illustration of my task is below:

attribute-value-in-transactional-email-message.png

Magento 1.9.3.7. I was searching on Google but no one suggestion worked. I am not a professional developer so detailed answer could be very helpful for me and maybe others who face the same problem.

Thank you in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: How to add a product attribute column to transactional email template?

Hi @Deivis,

I guess you have 2 options here to add your custom attribute.

The best approach could be to add your product attribute the quote, then move the attrbiute from quote to order (order_item, of course) and then when you be at that phtml file you should be able to do somehting like:

<?php echo $this->escapeHtml($_item->getArt()) ?>

There is a workaround but it won't be flawless. You can use a helper on that phtml file to read the product by id and get the attribute.

This approach is faster for development but:

• It won't be the true image of the product at the sale moment (becasue product attribute can change after the sale was made).
  • Could affect performance becasue you'll be doing a database read for each item.