cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CE version 1.9.1.0

CE version 1.9.1.0

I'm no developer. I purchased Magento in 2015 paid a website editor to develop the web page which is good to a degree and works for sales via Paypal.  I'm looking to build on selling via Ebay.  Looking at the back end there has been no upgrades at all since 2015.  Is there a recommended version I could upgrade to that takes into consideration all the critical and major alerts since then and a secure version to add extensions to for Ebay selling?  I'm not sure what is included in the original purchase price and what I'm able to upgrade to without further purchase.  Thank you in advance.  

3 REPLIES 3

Re: CE version 1.9.1.0

For selling via Ebay you will need an extension. I'm not familiar with that but, you might want to check some of the extensions that are available. I found this one for example: https://www.magentocommerce.com/magento-connect/ebay-magento-integration-marketplace-connect-by-codi...

About the upgrades. It's a bad thing that your installation hasn't been upgraded since 2015. There have been a lot of critical security fixes lately. I'd always go for the latest version of Magento, which is 1.9.3.1 at this moment. You can just download this version, but you don't want to upload this to your server and hope it works. If possible I'd suggest to make a copy of your webshop (on your local machine or for example on a subdomain) and upload the latest version there. Make sure you use a copy of the database as well, otherwise you'll have the testing environment using your live database.

When the upgraded version is ready, you should start testing both the frontend and backend of Magento. On the frontend, check if you can place an order, register an account, etc. And in the backend check if you can edit products, process orders, etc.

When all that works and the shop still looks good, you can copy the upgraded version to your live site.