cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the correct way to upgrade Magento version 1.5.1.0 to 1.9 on windows machine

What is the correct way to upgrade Magento version 1.5.1.0 to 1.9 on windows machine

I am new to magento/php. I trying to upgrade an existing website to Magento version 1.9.

I followed the following articular: Steps to Upgrade magento

I had following errors:

enter image description hereenter image description here

Couldn't succeed. I don't know the reason for this. Can anyone explain why these exceptions (see above) occurred?

Then I followed following: Magento guide for upgrade

This also didn't help. After trying too many times with different approaches, I am having following error while trying to upgrade my old database to latest magento version:

a:5:{i:0;s:340:"SQLSTATE[42000]: Syntax error or access violation: 1064 
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL 
server version for the right syntax to use near '>SET NAMES utf8; SET 
FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=0; SET UNIQUE_CHECKS=0' at line 1, query was: >SET NAMES utf8; SET 
FOREIGN_KEY_CHECKS=0; SET UNIQUE_CHECKS=0;";i:1;s:1541:"#0 C:\wamp\www\MyTestdev\lib\Varien\Db\Statement\Pdo\Mysql.php(110):

Please guide me in right direction. Thanks

10 REPLIES 10

Re: What is the correct way to upgrade Magento version 1.5.1.0 to 1.9 on windows machine

what is your php version?

have you tried to upload magento 1.6 or 1.7 files to 1.5 folder, and upgrading it first?

then to 1.9.0, then after to 1.9.1

then upgrade all extensions, but it all depends on your customizations...

i remember it was easier to do. then check your error log.

------------
MagenX - Magento and Server optimization

Re: What is the correct way to upgrade Magento version 1.5.1.0 to 1.9 on windows machine

Php version is 5.5.12.

I don't know how to upgrade to specific version of Magento using Magento-Connect.