cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgrading to later magento version

SOLVED

upgrading to later magento version

Hi,

We run an old version of magento - 1.3.1  and need to upgrade to 1.8 or later.  We found a migration service online but a developer I spoke to said although they will migrate our entities, the site won't work properly because the code from our existing site wouldn't work cleanly.

Sorry I am not very technical - I can create and update products on magento etc but I don't have any database/html experience.

I was just hoping someone might be able to advise if this is indeed the case.  If so, how would I find someone to upgrade our site ? I emailed 3-4 companies online and none have answered.

Sincere thanks for any advice.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: upgrading to later magento version

There's a HUGE gap between Magento CE 1.3 and 1.4 and couple of smaller ones after that; while upgrading database is easily doable, upgrading themes and extension (especially when they're done by who know when and by whom) is a huge pain. Because such project are usually left not upgraded for a reason, most development houses don't want to touch it even with a ten foot pole. When you say that you need to upgrade your Magento 1.3 store, agency people get sudden urge to be somewhere else.

I suggest that you find somebody competent you can hire on hourly basis to upgrade it to latest version (currently 1.9.2.4). Expect it to take somewhere between 25-100 hours (it depends on theme, extensions and in what condition your database is. There are other factors, such as integrations, hosting and so on; make list of them with your developer before you start work. Prioritise!). Once you're up to date find yourself a permanent partner that will make sure that you stay up to date. 

Tanel Raja

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3