cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to display top menu categories vertical left.

How to display top menu categories vertical left.

I am new to magento and we are using magento 2. I need to move the navigation categories horizontal on top to vertical left side.

Thank you in advance

7 REPLIES 7

Re: How to display top menu categories vertical left.

Hi @due_nguyen,

You can move top navigation bar to left using some customizations in the xml file. 

You need the following update in the Magento_Theme layout default.xml.

<move element="catalog.topnav" destination="sidebar.main" />

for more info :

https://devdocs.magento.com/guides/v2.3/frontend-dev-guide/layouts/xml-manage.html#layout_markup_rea... 

I hope it will help you!

This actually worked for me and its a perfect solution if you want the top menu moved to the side bar for magento 2 

I am using magento 2.3.4

Thank you so much for the solution

I forgot to mention.... the directory where u need to modify the default.xml is

/public_html/vendor/magento/module-theme/view/frontend/layout

I added this line <move element="catalog.topnav" destination="sidebar.main" /> below this block class line

<block class="Magento\Theme\Block\Html\Header" name="header" as="header" before="-">

Thank, you, that really works.

But is there a way to copy the menu and not move?

What I want to do:

- Top navigation linking to some pages and the main category page

- Vertical Left navigation with linking all categorys

How can this be done?