cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrating Opencart to Magento Business case problem

Migrating Opencart to Magento Business case problem

TLDR:  What is the best practice for storing complex product data and programmatically adding and maintaining it from c# to Magento

Hello everyone in Magento community.

I am new to Magento and I am hoping through this post, user can point me in the direction of the best reading resources to answer some of my broad questions. Also any specific on how to tackle the solution would be very much welcomed.

So to the business problem. I am currently running Version 1.5.5.1 of Opencart, with a store of probably around 150,000 products.

Simply put, I am happy with how the store is operating, but due to the version, I am forced with either migrating to later version of Opencart, moving to Magento or rewiring my old store to work with newer versions of PHP.

Here - I'm looking for advice on migrating to Magento and how best to approach it.

Currently, my store is uniquely set up, as the product database is maintained by the backend c# system I've written myself. This is because managing the volume of products I have is just not tenable in Opencart.

Of particular importance, is conceptually for every one product in my local system, it generates 100's if not 1000's of product variations.

To explain further, let's take a simple analogy of Car headlamp bulb. My site would advertise as sell:

Headlamp Bulb Ford Focus St
Headlamp Bulb Ford Focus Hatchback (2011 - 2018)
Headlamp Bulb Ford Focus Hatchback (2005 - 2011)
Headlamp Bulb Ford Focus RS (2009 - 2010)
Headlamp Bulb Ford Focus Estate (2011 - 2018)
etc etc

So for each make, model, variation the bulb fits, there would be a logical product on my site. My site doesn't sell headlamp bulbs, but this is just for example purposes.