cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multisite Categories Generated URL Problem

Multisite Categories Generated URL Problem

I have a Magento 2 ecommerce setup that has 2 site in it. Each site with different domain name. The main Magento ecommerce admin is located in http://website-admin.com and I have another site which is http://website1.com and another which is http://website2.com. Now this 2 website have different Root Category assigned to them. Now each website has it's own template that generate a custom menu. In this menu I'm retrieving all categories of this store and outputs the category and the url in the list format. But the issue now is that instead of the url to be in http://website2.com/category2 it's using the main website which is the http://website-admin.com/category2.

I'm fairly new to Magento and the Multisite. I'm not sure what to do here. Would appreciate a proper approach. The scenario here is that the menu being displayed in the frontend is generated in the Admin panel. Now since this is in the admin panel I had to use Emulation just to generate the store URL equivalent for the category. But upon visiting the category it's generating the main website as it's base url. 

Would appreciate any code that can show me the proper display of category for multisite

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Multisite Categories Generated URL Problem

Hello @madzmar_ullang 

I understand the actual multisite scenario which you are trying to achieve.

So just a quick question - have you given a base url to your second website ? or you have added base url to only your main site ?

You will require to add base url of each different site you have created from the admin panel ! like you assign the different root category.

Then run indexer command and check - it will showcase you the proper URL.

For more reference refer this link - https://www.simicart.com/blog/magento-2-multiple-stores-domains/

Hope it helps !