cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scheduling a delivery by "driver" role

Scheduling a delivery by "driver" role

I'm new to Magento and haven't written a module, and hoping someone can either provide some guidance or has written something similar.

I need to be able to schedule deliveries in a time window (not days, but hours - perhaps 15 minute windows or so), using "driver" or similar roles of users in the system.

In other words, a user in the system with a designated role, with a role title like "driver" or call it what you will. 

Our "drivers" are contractors who will schedule to be available for whatever hours they wish to schedule. Our customers who submit orders will select an available "driver" to deliver during the window they want delivery from the list available.

I've, of course, easily created the "driver" role on the admin side as I'll also need to be able to control their access and create what reports they can see for payment, etc eventually.

I'll need to be able to have "drivers" schedule their hours, and then have a checkout function that allows the selection of "driver" for delivery.

Does anyone have something like this or some guidance? I didn't see anything available in the Marketplace that fit this bill, or when searching this forum.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Scheduling a delivery by "driver" role

Hello @mike_latzky,

As per requirement, need more customization with admin Role and checkout process.
First of all, there is no relationship for Admin user/Role with frontend checkout system.

So you can go with products concept for checkout processing. And use the any third parties extension for scheduling.
e.g https://www.magedelight.com/delivery-date-magento-2.html

Also some restriction through admin :

Control access to product and categories management

Restrict access to product attributes

then  you can filter the Placed orders in sales/order grid.

Please ref this links for advance Role and privileges.