cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot change status to cancelled and cannot change from Hold back to Processing

Cannot change status to cancelled and cannot change from Hold back to Processing

I cannot cancel an order that is in processing mode. It just says "You cannot Cancel Orders". I am an admin. I don't understand

Also If my merchant puts an order on hold or if I set it to hold status. Then I go back and set it to unhold. The status is just blank and you cannot set it to Processing again. 

Magento 2.2.6

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Cannot change status to cancelled and cannot change from Hold back to Processing

Hi @mousepad

Magento follow some flow for changing the status of orders. If the order status is Pending then you can Hold, Cancel & Processing order. If it is converted to Processing once which means that it could possible that we have generated Invoice for order then we won't be able to cancel or hold it but cab do refund.

Check the order flowchart here which is shared by Magento. Hope this will resolve your query & concern and you can find some alternative way.

URL: https://docs.magento.com/m2/ce/user_guide/sales/order-status-workflow.html

Problem solved? Click Kudos & Accept as Solution!

Let me know if you still have any query/ concern.

Re: Cannot change status to cancelled and cannot change from Hold back to Processing

Hi

well in magento , we can only hold and cancel the order where order is in pending state ..

so once the order is in processing state you can not cancel that order or make order as hold ..

if you wanted to do this make sure your order is in processing state , then and then you can do it ..

hope it helps
if issue solved,Click Kudos & Accept as Solution

Hello @mousepad,