PHPUnit 4 can not mock classes with methods using PHP7 return types

PHPUnit 4 can not mock classes with methods using PHP7 return types

Feature request from Vinai, posted on GitHub Aug 20, 2016

PHP7 allows methods to declare return types. For example:

interface FooInterface
{
    public function bar(): int;
}

This feature of PHP7 (and others) is not used by the Magento 2 core code, since it still supports the old PHP version 5.6. However, code written for specific Magento 2 instances known to be running on PHP7, may already utilize the many features PHP7 provides under certain circumstances (e.g. compilation and ObjectManager compliance).

Magento 2 currently uses the PHP testing library PHPUnit version 4.1. PHPUnit 4.1 can not create mocks of classes with methods specifying return types. This feature was added to PHPUnit version 5 (more specifically, phpunit-mock-objects version 3, which is a dependency of PHPUnit 5).

As an external developer, I would like to be able to write PHP7 code if my client uses it. Also, I would like to be able to easily test my code using the testing library bundled with Magento 2. This would be possible by an update of the bundled testing library to PHPUnit 5.

Preconditions

1. PHP7
  2. A Magento 2 installation (any version, beta to current develop HEAD).

Steps to reproduce

1. A module containing a class or interface with a method using a PHP7 return type.
  2. A test that attempts to mock such the class or interface.

Expected result

PHPUnit creates the mock

Actual result

The mock PHPUnit 4.1 generates is not compatible with the PHP7 code and PHP throws an exception.

PHP Fatal error:  Declaration of Mock_CollectorInterface_c5f77d44::collectForModule(string $moduleDir) must be compatible with VinaiKopp\Example\Src\CollectorInterface::collectForModule(string $moduleDir): string in .../vendor/phpunit/phpunit-mock-objects/src/Framework/MockObject/Generator.php(290)