cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Collaboration With Magento Open Source II

miguel_b
Magento Master

Community Collaboration

In 2017 I was fortunate enough to be invited to join the Magento Community Team, a small public-facing team that handles issues and PRs on GitHub lead by Max Yekaterynenko. When you submit a PR or an issue, it is this team that will communicate with you about the submission.

I had previous experience on open source software (OSS) projects from working on Turpentine, a Nexcess product, and one of the most popular extensions for integrating Varnish and Magento 1. Though I’ve been managing the Turpentine repo for over 2 years, I learned much in my first 6 months in the Magento 2 repo.

A day in the life

Let me say to start with, working as a maintainer on any project gives you a unique perspective on the state of the platform, as well as a clearer view of the software’s immediate future and its community.

So far, I’ve processed +55 PRs and interacted with more than 26 contributors. Some of them were new to contributing, whereas others were seasoned pros. This difference in experience really makes for a fascinating challenge. In addition, the types of contributions varied. They ranged from small typos to big-feature requests.

Contributing is easy, thanks to GitHub. Most of the process is explained in the contributing.md file in the repo. This file exists in almost every OSS project on GitHub and includes general guidelines on how to contribute to that project.

To make things even easier, we also provide templates for submitting issues and PRs. These give you almost everything you need to report an issue or submit a pull request. We require the use of the templates because it makes it easier for us to reproduce the problem, so we don’t have to waste time mining for details.

Once we have all we need from you, it’s time to process the code. We:

• Determine if this is a bug or a feature request