cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Absolute Newbie - Installing Magento 1.9.2.4 Error during download

SOLVED

Absolute Newbie - Installing Magento 1.9.2.4 Error during download

Hey guys,

This is the first time I am working on Linux / Apache  with PHP & Mysql. While installing during the download phase I am geeting the following error :

• "There was a problem during downloading of Magento packages. Please check the output frame for errors information and refresh the page to retry again."

I just cleared the cache in the var directory in the root but to no effect.

I have no idea what this means or what I should do. Any help would be much appreciated

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Absolute Newbie - Installing Magento 1.9.2.4 Error during download

Got it !

Problem Solved. The issue was because of incorrectly merged media as well as the skin directory in the root. Thank you SindreM for all your suggestions ! Now just a minor issue with the the display of  incorrect / blank Currency symbol.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

Well, did you check the output frame for any errors as it says? It should give you more information about the actual error. There might be a couple of reasons, e.g. network related, wrong file permissions, etc.

Instead of using the downloader, you can try installing the complete archive. This way you won't have to download the packages first.

Are you running your own server or do you have a hosting provider? Maybe they can give you some assistance as well.

Sindre M, CEO & Founder
ProperHost.com - The Magento Hosting Experts

Many thanks ! It worked.

I uploaded the archive and it seems to be working except that the sample
data pages both front end and back end and their related links seem to
have lost their formatting, images and even labels.

Kinda happy and relieved that it worked and kinda frustrated with this new
problem.