cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

M1: Error 404 when adding product in second root category with multi-website

SOLVED

M1: Error 404 when adding product in second root category with multi-website

I am a Magento rookie, so please bear with me ...

I have created two websites with two domains and two root categories on Magento 1.9.2.4 (running on Apache 2.4): "site.com" (website 1) and "store2.site.com" (website 2). website 1 is assigned root category A and website 2 uses root category B. Both categories each have each one sub-category and there are  4 sample products. website 1 (site.com) runs fully normal.

PROBLEM: When I add a product to category B (website 2), I get an "Error 404: Page not found." as soon as I click on the sub-category link in the menu!!! I have flushed the cache and re-indexed a "zillion" times and spent the whole day Googling for a possible solution :-(

If the sub-category in category B is empty, I get the proper message "There are no products matching the selection" and the sub-category description is also shown corretly. All other page links on "store2.site.com" work correctly as well.

If I switch the root categories between the two websites, "site.com" shows the products of category B correctly. That means something must be wrong with my website 2 "store2.site.com" which shows "Error 404" also with category A, which worked well before being switched. I am using the same theme template for both websites.

Does anyone have some clues or hints for me, what I could have messed up with my setup and how I could debug? No error messages are shown in the Magento or Apache logs.

Thank you for your help in advance - I am totally lost!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: M1: Error 404 when adding product in second root category with multi-website

The issue is resolved!