cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Test Website Redirects not working

SOLVED

Test Website Redirects not working

HI,

I am just starting out with Magento and I have run into a snag. I am hoping someone can help.

I have the test website loaded https://clutchwerkz.com

When I try to open a page within the website/category/etc...say i want to open Accessories>Eyewear it returns a redirect error and my url looks like this.

https://clutchwerkz.com/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutchwe/~clutc...

If I remove all the ~clutchwe/ and instert index.php/eyewear.hml after the clutchwerkz.com/ of the url it redirects just fine. but the URL looks like this. https://clutchwerkz.com/~clutchwe/index.php/men.html

How do i fix this. I want to be able to go to say MEN>VIEW ALL MEN and have it go to the right page.

I have checked the Config >WEB> Redirects and have it set to YES

I have cleared the cache and reindexed all the info

Thanks for the help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Test Website Redirects not working

So I solved the problem...

After tons of reading, countless stackoverflows, reddit post, blog articles, calling my friends who are web developers, brother in law who has a web business I got no where. So, being almost confident this is a problem I caused while doing the initial installation I decided to go for broke, here is what i did.

Remember this is a development enviornment that I have on a shared hosting platform, if you are doing this on a private dedidcated box, I am not sure if this will work. (yes I know the website is outward facing but this is the easiest way I can get my friends around the world testing my websites)

1. Went into my cPanel

2. Logged into File Manager (Make sure you have "show hidden files checked" when you log in)

3. Go to your public_html where you should have installed Magento

4. Select everything, I mean EVERYTHING...and delete the crap out of it