cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I have to install composer?

Do I have to install composer?

Hi all,

I'm new to Magento platform, so excuse me if the question is silly.

The download page for M2 states that:

For the first time, the Magento software uses Composer for dependency management.

However, the installation guide says that I have an option to install M2 from a zip archive by uploading it to the server, and:

Composer is required for developers who want to contribute to codebase,or develop extensions.

I'm a bit confused. Do I actually have to install composer in order to install M2 shop? I'm not planning to develop extensions. All I need is a demo shop to play with and see if it's suitable for our business.

Thanks.

P.S. My environment: Ubuntu 14.04; PHP 5.5; MySQL 5.6; Apache 2.4.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Do I have to install composer?

There are 3 different ways to get Magento2 , via git, using composer create-project and downloading the zip from magento.com. The first 2 methods require that composer is installed. Using the zip does not require composer for core Magento. However, if you plan to add extensions and want to manage them, you will have to install composer in this case too.

Thank you for the prompt reply.

I guess I will need extensions. We need Alipay gateway and Chinese translation for the front end. I noticed that M2 provides Chinese language pack out of the box, but no Alipay module.

I have two additional questions:

1. If we want to use different theme for the front end, does it require an extension (and Composer)?
  2. If we use different theme, does it require a new translation for that theme or we can use existing language pack?
  3. Which of the following character sets does default Chinese language pack include: Traditional, Simplified? I couldn't find a list of available translations in the documentation.

Thank you.