cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Two concerns after installing Magento 2 on Nginx

Two concerns after installing Magento 2 on Nginx

Hi,

I am new with Magento (CE). Version 2 looks nice, so congrats to developers.

Well, to the point: I installed Magento 2 in a server running Nginx. I tried to follow the instructions on the installation manual, but I still got two messages I want to ask about:

1. One of my cron jobs gives me this result...

PHP Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'UnexpectedValueException' with message 'RecursiveDirectoryIterator::__construct(var/generation/Magento/CatalogUrlRewrite/Model/Storage): failed to open dir: Permission denied' in update/app/code/Magento/Update/CronReadinessCheck.php:84

(I removed my folder and URL for privacy sake)

...and I don't know what could be causing it or how to solve it.

2. When I log in to the backstore, I get a message which reads:

"Your web server is set up incorrectly and allows unauthorized access to sensitive files"

Without stating which are the sensitive files I would need to protect. How can I find out?

Thanking you...

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Two concerns after installing Magento 2 on Nginx

For both issues it is because your file permissions are wrong.

I am going to make two assumptions for the sake of example, you will have to change them where they differ on your installation. They are that your nginx server process is installed and running as a user called 'nginx' and you have a regular account that you are using for adding files to the server called 'webuser'.

First you need to set the permissions on your magento web server directory so that you 'webuser' are the owner of the files and 'nginx' as the group. To do this, as a user with root privileges issue the command...

chown -R webuser:nginx /path

where /path = the root path for your magento installation.

Next change the permissions as follows ...