cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPC/Redis cache not invalidating when pages are modified

FPC/Redis cache not invalidating when pages are modified

I have an issue with a site that I'm consulting on right now where page modifications (for instance to static pages, which is how we've been testing this) are not invaliding the cache properly.  Honestly, I'm still learning quite a bit about redis and the FPC at current; that's where I (and another dev on the team) are assuming that things are going bad at this point.  Basically the issue is that if any changes are made to [one of the static content] pages, the cache is [presumably] not invalidating, and the previously warmed page continues to be served until caches are manually flushed.  For awhile we thought that the issue had to deal with redis no longer being hooked up to FPC, but it appears that those were two separate issues and that FPC<-->redis is now working properly, while the page invalidation is still not working as [we feel] it should.

Can anybody tell me a little bit more about the behavior of redis/FPC caching and modification of the cached pages?  Is there supposed to be some sort of invalidation going on, or is this a feature that does not exist?  I've studied the page at Colin Mollenhour's GitHub repo on Cm_Cache_Backend_Redis and Magento DevDocs, and unfortunately, I don't seem to be able to find anything regarding this issue mentioned on there.  I've been looking for more documentation elsewhere, but I don't seem to be able to find any resources anywhere with my level of Google-fu.