Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Flushed the cache and it brought my (test) site down

SOLVED

Flushed the cache and it brought my (test) site down

Hi

I am a complete newbie to Magento.

I have a test site which I was adding categories and subcategories, having already added a theme to the test site and I thought I better flush the cache and once I did, everything went awry - the site went down and I cant access the admin to try to revert what happened. The browser message I get is that the browser cant connect to the server - so I dont know what happened there.

Does anyone know what I can do to get it back? I've been looking on Google, but cant seem to find anything that is related to my issue. This is so odd, because when I flushed cache before, it was fine.

I can still get into my cpanel and phpAdmin, but as I am not a DB person I dont know which table inside the DB to configure to make it work again.

I have the latest version of Magento installed.

Does anyone have any ideas?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Flushed the cache and it brought my (test) site down

The rows in core_config_data that you are most likely to need to change can be found with the following sql

select * from core_config_data where path like '%base_url%';

Just change the value column to be your url (remember the trainling slash)

update core_config_data set value = 'http://your-domain.com/' where path = 'web/unsecure/base_url';

update core_config_data set value = 'https://your-domain.com/' where path = 'web/secure/base_url';

The secure one will be http or https depending on whether you have ssl installed.

Make sure and flush your cache again when you have done this.

Double check your skin urls etc as well to make sure they aren;t using 127.0.0.1 (normally they use {unsecure_base_url}} and {{secure_base_url}}

select * from core_config_data where path like '%base%';
Richard Cleverley
Magepim Ecommerce Services

View solution in original post