cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Site Performance with a lot of SKUs

Site Performance with a lot of SKUs

my new site has 400+ products and some of the configurable products have a lot of attributes/over 2500 associated simple SKUs.

the configurable products with 4000+ associated simple SKUs actually do not display as the request times out...so I have had to disable them from a customer experience point of view

the developer of the site said that this is more than likely due to the shared hosting and has advised moving to a VPS hosted service...I have researched all of the performance enhancements you can make to magento and had the developer action these accordingly

just wanted some advice whether moving to a VPS is simply the answer or if there are other considerations?

moving to VPS is not cheap (Australia) if I go with the developers managed service and I am not technical enough to host the site on an unmanaged VPS...I have floated with the developer that he looks after the site (adhoc) even though it is hosted elsewhere and he seemed ok with this but it would be a risk

thanks in advance

Scott

11 REPLIES 11

Re: Site Performance with a lot of SKUs

Hi Scott,

Your developer is right. There is not much optimization you can do on a shared hosting account. Cheap option is to get an unmanaged server and hire server optimization guys from this forum to set it up for you . << Snipped >>

Anton Pachkine @ magento2.hosting : Magento Small Business Package.

You may be able to keep the website in shared hosting if a caching system like LiteMage Cache or Varnish is available. 

If you decide to go with a VPS, I wouldn't recommend going with an unmanaged VPS as you will be responsible for not only the optimization or server management but also security, which is the most important aspect of a server. 

@JLHC wrote:

You may be able to keep the website in shared hosting if a caching system like LiteMage Cache or Varnish is available.