cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Address line number validation on checkout / registering

Address line number validation on checkout / registering

Hi Folks,

I'm really no developer so I need your help in this Smiley Happy

Maybe it's very simple, but I can't get it to work.

What I'd like to achieve? A simple check if the addressline contains a number.

Some people forget to fill in their housenumber when checking out ... and in that case we can't send the product(s).

I thought it might be simple to use the built-in validation, in this case: 

'validate-number'               => 'Please enter a valid number in this field.'

So I edited this file:

app/design/frontend/ultimo/default/template/checkout/onepage/billing.phtml

<input type="text" title="<?php echo Mage::helper('core')->quoteEscape($this->__('Street Address')) ?>" name="billing[street][]" id="billing:street1" value="<?php echo $this->escapeHtml($this->getAddress()->getStreet(1)) ?>" class="input-text validate-number <?php echo $_streetValidationClass ?>" />

As you can see I added the class validate-number ... but it isn't working. As I said, I might be looking in the wrong way here Smiley Tongue Hope you can help me figure it out Smiley Happy

1 REPLY 1

Re: Address line number validation on checkout / registering

How I like to resolve this, is by using two address lines instead of one. You can do this via System > Configuration > Customers > Customer Configuration. In the tab "Name and Address Options" you can set the value for "Number of Lines in a Street Address" to two. With some styling, it should be a problem to place them next to each other in the page. Depending on the way addresses are written where you live, you can set the validate-number on the first or second address field. And make both of them required, so people have to fill in both fields.

An example of the code I use for this is this: