cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where in the code does Magento update product attributes?

SOLVED

I'm trying for a workaround to functionality that doesn't exist yet in m2epro. I use Magento to manage my ebay store and listings. m2epro is lacking the ability to create a description with PHP (confirmed from support). My solution is to create an attribute called ebay_description, and then anytime product attributes are updated, it calls a php function that updates ebay_description before saving it to the database.

This is the best solution I can think of at the moment, unless anyone has a better idea. But I have exhausted every option with m2epro including calling phtml files from a static block.

I'm a 20 year php programmer (which means I'm doing my best in this object oriented world), but fairly new to Magento, so please be specific.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Where in the code does Magento update product attributes?

Hi,

What i would do is use the event catalog_product_save_after observer. If you are going to rebuild the ebay_description each time attributes change then it would be safe to just rebuild it everytime a product is saved.

If you need help setting up an observer to do this just let me know.

Regards,

Andy

Problem solved? Click Accept as Solution!
www.iwebsolutions.co.uk | Magento Small Business Partner

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Hi,

What i would do is use the event catalog_product_save_after observer. If you are going to rebuild the ebay_description each time attributes change then it would be safe to just rebuild it everytime a product is saved.

If you need help setting up an observer to do this just let me know.

Regards,

Andy

I could use help setting that up. Will that catch changes made by importing data?