cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Backup taking a long time

Backup taking a long time

Hey all,

I would like to apologize if this has already been answered, but I couldn't find a similar question.

Anyhow, I am quite new to Magento and I thought I'd use the built-in backup tool inside magento connect to backup the database (I was about to install an extension and thought a backup might be a good idea). Foolish me. The console has now been saying "Creating backup" for the past 4 hours and the website is in "maintenance mode" and I am a bit wary of just cancelling it.

Is it normal for the backup to take such a long time? I'm assuming that if I click "Back to admin panel" and agree with the warning message which says "There are connect processes running. If you navigate away from this page, the installation will be canceled", the store will probably get stuck in maintenance mode?

Thank you for all your help in advance!

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Backup taking a long time

Well, after my own official conclusion that the back-up process was indeed stuck, I managed to solve the problem with a "ghetto-style" solution. In case anyone finds themselves in the same boat, here's what I did:

At the moment, I do not have access to the server's database, only the admin control panel. So, I can't delete the maintenance.flag file, or mess around with any other files etc.  But when the site is in maintenance mode, not even the admin control panel is accessible.