cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maintenance.flag not working...

Maintenance.flag not working...

Hi folks...a newbie here but I'm getting the handle of it...

I've placed a blank file called "maintenance.flag" in the root of my store (where the app, var, etc files are) but it doesn't seem to be recoginized. In my host's file manager, I merely created a new file with the maintenance.flag" name. Is this more to it than that?

The index.php coding involved is below in case it's a help. The client needs this site (which was done by someone else) to be idled for a while until the catalog can be updated.

I'd sure appreciate any help that can be offered. I've searched for hours on line and can't find anything I'm doing wrong. 

$maintenanceFile = 'maintenance.flag';

if (!file_exists($mageFilename)) {
if (is_dir('downloader')) {
header("Location: downloader");
} else {
echo $mageFilename." was not found";
}
exit;
}

if (file_exists($maintenanceFile)) {
include_once dirname(__FILE__) . '/errors/503.php';
exit;

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Maintenance.flag not working...

Hi.

What you have done is correct which leads to be two conclusions. Either your filename is incorrect or the permission on the file is incorrect which means the file exists check cannot read it.

Try the following;

chmod 644 maintenance.flag
Problem solved? Click Accept as Solution!
www.iwebsolutions.co.uk | Magento Small Business Partner

Thanks very much. I am able to change permissions via my host's file manager. The permissions previously read (and still read) 644. (Ihave no first digit where your "0" is shown).

The file I have created has the title "maintenance.flag". It is a blank file.

There is only 1 index.php at the root...I assume this must be the one being used.

There are many other files in the root, like the unzipped Magento files, etc. I am assuming that none of these are the culprit.

Are you able to edit your index.php file? I would add in something like...