cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1.4.1.1 version upgrade

SOLVED

1.4.1.1 version upgrade

A friend of a friend asked me to update his magento shopping cart. I am a webmaster, but have never used Magento. He is using Magento Community v1.4.1.1. The best I can tell his platform is over 5 years old. Ouch!

He has lots of customers and many products. I am unsure as to whether to advise him to upgrade this in incremental patches (which I assume I can find all the way back to his version) or to build a brand new store. Since his site is over 5 years old I assume there are many major upgrades and his version of PHP and MySQL are old to begin with. So I don't know up upgrading so far back is going to work.

If I were to do a fresh install on a new server is it possible to import all his previous customers, products, and attributes? Or would it be best to upgrade his store as is in increments, then migrate over to a new server? Just wondering the best approach to upgrade such an old site with existing data.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: 1.4.1.1 version upgrade

Because of the database restructuring and adding of tables that occurs, 1.4.1.1 is distinctly different from 1.4.2.0 and basically 1.4.2.0 can be considered to be a version all it's own.

The major issues come from database upgrades. The logical succession is 1.4.1.1 => 1.4.2.0 => 1.5.1.0 => 1.6.2.0 => anything you want. There are major database revisions in each of these upgrades, trying to jump 1.4.2.0 past 1.5.1.0 for me was a disaster. Going from 1.4.1.1 to 1.6.2.0 was totally no-go.

The code stabilizes with 1.6 and in fact if you open up 1.9.2.1 and run down all the internal module versioning, they're all 1.6 except for a couple exceptions. A jump from 1.6.2.0 to 1.9.2.1 is pretty minimal in the time it takes for the database conversion, the major issues will come about if you have a lot of custom templates.