cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will Magento 1.x end of life affect website running?

SOLVED

Will Magento 1.x end of life affect website running?

Hi, I'm new to Magento.

I saw someone said "end of life" of Magento v1.x.
Since now the version of our website on cPanel is 1.9.3.7, will it affect on the website running?

And I would like to ask: What means the end of Magento 1.x life? Does it mean any website with v.1 will be shut off or won't receive any update? If it means no more update, we still could keep our website run normally, right?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Will Magento 1.x end of life affect website running?

Hi @elsa_lai,

If you can maintain the software stack (Php, Mysql, etc) you should be able to use the current store. Short answer is "Yes".

But is important to remember that you won't get any security update on Php (after the EOL of those versions) or Magento (official security fixes after the EOL).

If I were the person who has to choose I will start to think and plan how the transition will be to Magento 2. If you can start to plan (at least) you should be ready for that moment.

View solution in original post

16 REPLIES 16

Hi @elsa_lai,

I will try to answer that question with information you can check too.

Magento 1, by default, can work with PHP 5.6 but not with PHP 7.0 or higher.

There is a community module that will allow you to use PHP 7.0 (I don't remember right know what about PHP 7.1 but I guess it won't work) (you should check that).

Why is this so important? Because: http://php.net/supported-versions.php

PHP 5.6 and 7.0 won't get any kind of support/security upgrade next year. This doesn't mean your store will stop working.

If you can maintain a server with the right versions of software (but it will under your responsibility to use outdated php versions) you will be able to continue working.