cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configurable product user permissions

Configurable product user permissions

Hi all,

I'm very new to Magento, and am setting up a simple store however I have a requirement to limit certain product configurations to registered user accounts only.

For my example to explain it, I'll use Shirts.  Hopefully I'm on the correct path.

Say I have some Mens Shirts, in three different sizes (small, medium, large) and three different colours - Red, Blue, Green.  Now, I want to limit it so that only users with an account can select the Red colour (and everything else), and anyone else (guests without an account) can browse and see all options except Red.

I have a category tree that looks like;

All Items

- Mens Clothing

- - Shirts

I create a Configurable Product as normal, and add it to categories; All Items, Mens Clothing, and Shirts.

Now, can I do this to limit the Red colour option (which is created as three Virtual Products; Red Shirt Small, Red Shirt Medium, Red Shirt Large)...

If I change my category tree to;

All Products

- Mens Clothing

- - Shirts

- - Members Only Shirts

And then, add the Virtual Products for Red Mens shirts to Members Only Shirts, and no other Category, Then, allow registered users access to the Members Only Shirts.

Will this mean that unregistered users will see all options except Red, and registered users see all options plus Red?

I hope I explained that correctly...

Thanks in advance,

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Configurable product user permissions

Hi @zirophyz ,

As per your requirement, magento doesn't provide any by default functionality to restrict product at the behalf of customer group. 

But there are some extensions available in marketplace. 
https://amasty.com/customer-group-catalog-for-magento-2.html