cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Full Page Cache Question

Full Page Cache Question

I am running Magento 2.3.2.  I am fairly new to Magento 2.  I have everything running (or so it seemed) and had enabled full page cacheing.

Yesterday I discovered a problem.  If I add one product to the cart, all is ok.  If I "continue shopping" and then go to a category page, select a second product, the mini-cart is immediately emptied.  Second product is in the actual check out cart, first is not.

I investigated and found that the problem is the second product is being loaded as a cached page, and this somehow clears the mini-cart.

When I disabled full page cache, the scenario above works fine.  2 or more products in cart are all ok.

I'm not sure what to do to fix this problem.  Suggestions?

P.S. My hosting environment does not support Varnish.  They use nginx.

5 REPLIES 5

Re: Full Page Cache Question

Are you sure that no other caching is running except the Magento prebuilt?

Hi @debrarhogan 

Generally FPC modules (full page cache) also cache things like cart content. They just cache entire pages most of the time.... FPC's come in many varieties. So care to elaborate what module you are using.

What you are trying to do is HOLE punching. This allows content to be loaded and passed on through the backend. Ex. the cart's content / block should not be cached / hole punched and the data should be collected either through an html request/ajax/esi method..

Based on the FPC module you should search how to disable the block cache on the cart. 

The problem may be the minicart that gets cached. Try to disable cache for the minicart only.

If my answer is helpful, please Accept as Solution & give Kudos

I don't believe so. I don't have any third party extensions for cacheing.
I do have ALL Magento caches enabled / update on save settings.

Forgive me for being a rookie here.