cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to run multiple Magento 2 websites on dedicated shared server with Varnish?

Is it possible to run multiple Magento 2 websites on dedicated shared server with Varnish?

Hello everyone,

My name is Luke and I am a web developer in Australia that has created over 20 Magento 2 websites for my customers.

These websites are for separate businesses and run on their own Magento instance.  Some have multi stores whilst others are just single stores.

I currently have my own dedicated server which is setup and maintained by a tech friend of mine here in Australia.

The issue that I have is that my sites are slow.  For example visit https://urbanproducts.com.au

I believe the main reason is because we don’t use Varnish cache.

I am told that Varnish can’t on a server that runs multiple Magento websites.

We currently run our own dedicated server running WHM, cPanel and Nginx (I think – sorry if I don’t supply all the technical details as it’s a bit over my head).

The server has 2 x E5-2690 V3 @2.6GHz processors with 128GB memory and is operating in a premier data centre in Australia.  It is well equipped.

My tech friend has suggested I reach out to Magento community and request any suggestions on what I should do to run these websites.

We have considered a separate VPS for each site, but the costs may be too expensive running 20 VPS's as it would appear we need to utilize ones that each have more than 4GB of RAM.

If possible can someone please give me a recommendation on the server setup for running multiple Magento 2 sites?  I know it is an open question.  I do prefer to run cPanel but am prepared to use anything that gives best performance.

If anyone could recommend a person/company that could configure such a server for me then that would be of great assistance too.