cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Uploading Images and duplicate images

SOLVED

Uploading Images and duplicate images

Hi Everyone, apologies if daft question! Smiley Very Happy

I'm new to Magento and far from a developer but try and learn things as I go. My hosts have informed me I keep using up all of my disk space creating my new site on Magento2.When they've looked into it further they've found its mostly images that are clogging it up. When I look,a lot of my product images are being duplicated. Here comes the daft bit! I might have 20 products that are all using the same picture but the product is available in different sizes so I've chosen to make them as separate simple products. Can I not somehow get all 20 products to link and use the same pictures? My Magento is duplicating the pictures for every product. So for example, every product has 5 pictures, so instead of having 5 pictures being hosted, its duplicating them for each product and storing 50 pictures?

Should I hang my shame with embarrassment or am I not actually daft??

Thanks in advance.

Iain 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Re: Uploading Images and duplicate images

Hi @gorillaracking

I understand the problem you are facing !

But Its core functionality of magento. If one image(a.jpeg) have uploaded for some product(A). Again we upload the same image(a.jpg) for another product its uploaded (a_1.jpg). Its the default core functionality of magento

Hope it helps !

if issue solved,Click Kudos & Accept as Solution

View solution in original post

Hi @gorillaracking

Glad to know that you have resolved your issue , Happy to help and keep helping Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

Hi @gorillaracking

I understand the problem you are facing !