cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Choosing a theme, and what does that really mean?

SOLVED

Choosing a theme, and what does that really mean?

Let me start by saying; I'm not a Magento developer and I have no intention of becoming one. As a business user, I will forever be an ignorant newbie.

I'm looking to implement Magento for our business. Our Magento developer has asked us what theme we would like to use as a starting point. I have no idea how to even go about choosing a theme; in part because I really don't understand what a theme does. How do I know what aspects of the user experience the theme will impact? Is a theme merely the colours, fonts, and layout of certain elements on each page? Or does a theme have functional aspects to it as well? Can a theme fundamentally change the navigation or checkout experiece for example?

Is it typical for a client to have to simply "pick a theme" without any real understanding of what it is that they're picking or what the implications are of thier decision?

EDIT: We're on Magento 2.0 and I've just realised that there is a 2.0 forum. Any admins; feel free to move this post to the 2.0 forum.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Choosing a theme, and what does that really mean?

Hi @Scorpio

There are two approaches for theme creation while developing a magento site.

1) Develop a theme from scratch :
This require a Magento a UI/UX designer and Magento front end developer.
This person develops the theme from scratch. Generally you have to provide her/him PSD files.
From these files the do the HTML slicing and develop html design.This design is then integrated in to Magento using Magento
theming concepts.

2) Purchase a ready made theme.