cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Editing default blocks

Editing default blocks

Hi,

I am new to Magento and just installed Magento 2.0 CE via github this week and am now trying to setup a homepage of my shop. The main issue I seem to be facing to get started is how to edit the default blocks of a theme. I.e. I understand magento uses CMS blocks to generate pages from it like top.links, top.menu, foot, bottom.container, top.links, footer_links etc and thus I want to edit these. However in the block section under Content \ Blocks I cannot find them. 

Is that a problem with the installation or is that as it should be?

Is there any configurable way to modify these default blocks?

I only found some articles regarding footer changes where it was recommend to change a default.xml. However as Magento seems to be really configurable that appears pretty odd to me and furthermore my directory frontend\app\design\frontend\Magento is empty where the file should be located after what I read.

Any advice?

Cheers

Tom

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Editing default blocks

Hi,

The blocks you're wanting to edit are a different thing than CMS blocks, they're a set of PHP classes and template files found in the Magento_Theme core module and are not configurable from the backend. Rather than editing the core files directly, you should overwrite them with a custom theme. Any decent beginner tutorial on theming should cover how to do this but I can personally recommend Alan Kent's book, 'Magento 2: Theme Web Page Assets.' Best of luck!

Hi,

thanks a lot for the advise. Already started with the ebook. :-).

Quick note - there is so much configurable in magento - why not these things in a future version too. Not necessarily on css, xml, json, php level, but like the parts which are displayed as part of a layout in the different areas. Maybe an idea for the developers.

Cheers

Thorsten