cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help please creating a custom product type in Magento 2

SOLVED

Help please creating a custom product type in Magento 2

Hi,

I'm trying to create a custom product but with no luck at all. 

I've followed the examples on a couple of sites (http://magenest.com/creating-new-product-type-and-product-attribute-in-magento-2/ and http://magento.stackexchange.com/questions/51914/how-to-add-a-new-product-type-in-magento-2-magestac...

I've create the product_types.xml file and a php file for my model.

I may be doing something totally wrong or very stupid (we've all done it), or maybe the format has changed since the final version of 2 came out?

I can't find anything in the official docs (again, maybe I'm missing it), and only a handful of sites talking about it.

I'm a very experienced programmer but new to Magento 2.

I'm running in developer mode but can't see any errors anywhere.

The custom product is not showing when I go to Add Product.

Any ideas please? I've spent all day on this so far!

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Help please creating a custom product type in Magento 2

Absolutely you need a module.

app/etc is not the place to put your custom configuration files. Also, copying and pasting my code examples will not just work either. [Vendor] needs replacing with your own Vendor namespace.

See Github for a full example.

Problem solved? Click Accept as Solution!
www.iwebsolutions.co.uk | Magento Small Business Partner

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11

Can you show your product_types.xml and your class please?

Certainly. Thanks for offering to hep.

this file is stored in /etc/product_types.xml

<?xml version="1.0"?>

<config xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="../../../Magento/Catalog/etc/product_types.xsd">