cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost trying to customize objects

SOLVED

Lost trying to customize objects

I am new to Magento 2 and I am sorry if this isn't the place for this but, I am finding it incredibly difficult to customize objects. I have searched around and still, am unable to get a good understanding of the way Magento works for development changes. I am working on a preinstalled Magento 2 build which 2 developers have been working at for a couple of months now I don't know what changes they have made to it so far. They don't seem to be too sure about finding or locating an object to make edits. The other day I needed to change the text to a button and I spent hours digging through files until I finally found the javascript file with the function to write the text. I need to change the class of a submit button because it is inheriting CSS that it shouldn't be and am unable to find it in the file structure. I feel like it shouldn't be this difficult to work with this system there has to be something that I am not seeing here. Any help would be appreciated, Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Lost trying to customize objects

Hello @andrew_bossart 

Magento is all about practise and keep updating yourself daily with new versions and things are coming in Magento 2.

Thanks to our amazing community which helps Magento 2 to reach at completely new platform by adding tons of features, security updates and performance improvements.

Magento 2 now at least launching around 4 major updates in a year.

To answer your question, you can take some help of developer to get some tasks done first and ask him for the files where he made the changes to learn more.

Reason is, not every custom theme has same file to modify but yes backend files must be similar.

For CSS you can anytime right click on browser and click on inspect element to find CSS file in bottom right section.