cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Magento 2 full conversion to IBM DB2

Magento 2 full conversion to IBM DB2

Hello, I am new to the forums and I have been developing on magento (vanilla, with MySql) for several months now.

Recently I have been tasked with finding a way to fully integrate IBM DB2 with Magento 2.4.5, (getting rid of MySql altogether) these changes impact upon the whole Magento2 Framework and subsequently on the base modules that magento comes with (which will need to be thoroughly tested to ensure their functionality).

I am struggling to find a complete time estimate (since it's quite a lot of code to go through and data processing analysis).

I have spent as of now converting the system and running tests for about a total of 47 days.

How can I estimate the analysis, coding, debugging, testing of: The connection interfaces (which is somewhat done since we are already connecting with DB2 and executing most queries), the framework and the integrated OOTB modules?

How long could this project take?

Disclaimer: As of now I have been attacking the problem head on, code monkey style but I need to find a way to analyze the "work to be done" to provide a time frame. Is this possible?

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Magento 2 full conversion to IBM DB2

It's good to hear that you've made some progress in integrating IBM DB2 with Magento 2.4.5. As for estimating the time required to complete the project, there are several factors that you should consider.

1. Scope: The first step is to define the scope of the project, which includes all the tasks that need to be completed to fully integrate IBM DB2 with Magento 2.4.5. This includes analyzing the existing code, modifying the connection interfaces, adapting the framework, and testing the integrated modules. Make sure you have a clear understanding of what needs to be done and what the end goal is.  www.mygeorgiasouthern.edu