cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Programming methodologies do i have to know to understand magento?

SOLVED

What Programming methodologies do i have to know to understand magento?

Hi,

I'm a beginner Magento developer and I do have coding knowledge, I have worked with procedural and functional PHP and a little OO PHP too. I have classes concepts and MVC concept too, I also know a little bit laravel too, but I still get lost while working with Magento Code. With some research on my own, I have become familiar with some new concepts like psr, autoloading, namespaces. but still I can't understand Magento, What are the things that I should become familiar with or learn to completely understand Magento.

Regards,

Tajveez

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: What Programming methodologies do i have to know to understand magento?

Hi @tajveez_rehman 

Magento organizes its code into individual Modules. Magento is a configuration-based MVC system. In a typical PHP Model-View-Controller (MVC) application, all the Controllers will be in one folder, all the Models in another, etc. In Magento, files are grouped together based on functionality, which are called modules in Magento.

So here we have Magento’s coding standards, which will help you to contribute to Magento’s codebase or can create extensions in Magento. Also this blog will help you in understand Magento Coding Standards.

Moreover this you need to understand:

1) MVC
2) Magento Theme
3) Modules
4) PHP and HTML knowledge
5) Magento file structure

To customize the store to your needs you will need HTML/CSS skills, JavaScript, XML knowledge.

I hope it will help you.

Thanks

--

if issue solved and help ,Click Kudos & Accept as Solution

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Hello @tajveez_rehman ,

Welcome to the community forums.

This community forums is a very good platform to ask the questions and try to help others.