cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

module configurations between environments

SOLVED

module configurations between environments

Hi all!,

This is my first time in the forums, hope is not the last one.

I am working on a M2 project where we have several modules that install dummy data and make specific configurations.Those modules are dependent on the environment to install the data (credentials for example, or dummy products, categories, users and roles), I mean, the module should not install that data on stage nor production environment but it should on dev and local environment for testing purposes.

The first approach that we thought was to have a way to detect which is the environment (base url for example), and have some verification on the installData script. For example:

if ($environment == 'prod'){
    //install prod configuration
}
else{
    //install test configuration
}

Using that approach we found that the credentials will be versioned by the version control system and we will have productions credentials in the script, this is a problem.
After having some discussion with some team members, we decided to create a CLI command to set up de environment (it will run just one time per environment). This command uses the env.php file to add something like "ourEnvironment: local". Another part to solve the problem was to create a JSON file in some specific location (app/etc/custom_config/local/config.json for local environment and app/etc/custom_config/config.json for the rest of the environments(dev, stage, preprod, prod)) where we have the credentials or specific configurations that are different between environments.
This will allow all developers to pull the code without issues, (and also this doesn’t have any problem with update scripts) . Also the sensitive credentials wont be versioned and the config file for each environment will be used only by the person in charge to the deploy, i.e. your Sysops Team.