cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CronJobs Magento 1.9.2.2

CronJobs Magento 1.9.2.2

I have spent about two weeks on and off trying to figure this out. I have honestly tried so many different things and configurations, I don't remember all of them anymore. Essentially I can't get the Magento CronJobs to function correctly.

I have no experience with Cron Jobs until now, so there has been a steep learning curve so far. I have Bluehost for a hosting company with a shared server, so no direct command line root access as far as I know, just Cpanel. After going back and forth with the hosting company and trying different methods, this at least seems to be correctly launching the Magento CronJobs. */5 * * * * /bin/sh /MyDomainUserName/public_html/cron.sh

I spent a long time trying to work with AoeScheduler but couldn't ever get it to successfully produce a heartbeat task and all jobs always stayed pending. I gave up on it and got Cron Doctor for now.

The tasks sort of work... they launch and I get through a couple and then it gets "stuck" - so far every time on "Captcha Delete Expired Images".

Once this happens, I get an email from Cron Daemon saying "Status 500 Internal Server Error Content type: text/html" every 5 minutes. And in my error_log I get this: "-Jan-2016 00:10:02] PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_FUNCTION in /MyDomainSpecifics/public_html/app/code/core/Mage/Core/Helper/Abstract.php on line 240"

Once I use Cron Doctor to delete all of the Magento jobs, it goes around to the next 5 minutes and I get a clean Cron Daemon email that just says "Content type: text/html" - with no new errors in error_log, and the jobs start running again, same ones, and then repeats getting stuck like above.