cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi from a total novice

SOLVED

Hi from a total novice

Hi to anyone who reads my post, my name is Trevor Langfield and I'm the MD of Highpower Systems UK Ltd. 

I recently had an employee (who managed the main aspects of our Magento website shop), suddenly terminate his employment, which has left us in the dark about how to deal with, a recent email from Magento, saying that vital security updates need implementing as soon as possible. 

I've been in business approx. 45 years, I'm self taught on every aspect I've been involved in with my business and I'm reasonably computer literate. 

I've managed (I believe) to back up the site, which I felt was a first vital step, before attempting to change anything and I found that easy, once I'd overcome a couple of issues that I encountered.

I've also improved the security of my forum (at my first attempt), which has made it more secure, than the trained guy who set it up for me originally and that was achieved purely by relying on common sense.

I'm giving you this information purely as insight into what I 'might' be capable of, so you have something tangible, to base the advice I'm about to ask for on.

I'm tempted to try and carry out the security updates to my website myself, so I'd be grateful if anyone could advise me as to the following;

1) Would you think it was something a complete novice could do?

2) Is there anything more that I nee to do, to guard against the worst consequences of a mistake?

3) If I mess up in some way, will I wish I'd found someone else to do it for me or is it just a 'simple' matter of restoring from the back up I've made or is even that not that simple?

4) When doing the back-up I found some tips about what was involve and found that the on site back-up, didn't back up all that would be needed for a full restore, can anyone verify that is the case, please?