cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Publish a page in Magento ( Or should I say work on a page only in preview)

How to Publish a page in Magento ( Or should I say work on a page only in preview)

Sorry for the profoundly stupid question. This is my first time working in Magento - my experience being in enterprise CMS such as Vignette and Interwoven. I cannot see for the life of me the mehcanism by which a page is published within admin console. Typically within the past we have had a preview and production environment and within the CMS console you can build a preview page on a staging environment and then publish ( within the content editors console) and it pushes out to a live environment. If it is built on new navigation you can mark the navigational nodes active and pubish those and the page out.

There is not a single publish button anywhere in my admin console and clearly you want to be able to edit work real time without it being seen live. Presumably if I mark pages as inactive even I wont be able to see them. Guess I should try! Smiley Happy

Sorry for the stupid questions I am learning but there are a few things that are completely bamboozling me!

Louise

3 REPLIES 3

Re: How to Publish a page in Magento ( Or should I say work on a page only in preview)

Hi @LouiseA,

Totally understand your pain, but unfortunately Magento is not so great in content management I can suggest checking out this extension though - I never tried it myself but it looks like something you are looking for as it adds a preview button before publishing, plus some other features.

Need help? Certified Magento Developers | magecom.net

Re: How to Publish a page in Magento ( Or should I say work on a page only in preview)